Programming our Programmable Controllers

This is the general discussion area. Everyone is welcome, but you must register to post.

Moderator: RLG MGMT Team

Post Reply
User avatar
Gator
Posts: 1412
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 15:55
Location: Reston, VA
Contact:

Programming our Programmable Controllers

Post by Gator »

I know we've all agonized over deciding which key to use for "push-to-talk" so that we don't have to remap all our games and sims. With some of the especially complicated sims like IL2, Falcon and Lomac, there are very few unused keys available and I've noticed that Ventrilo doesn't seem to allow key combinations, but only single keys.

So, I set out to choose the ultimate "push to talk key" that would work in any game/sim. I've chosen a key that no sim (to my knowledge) has ever used. I chose the "Menu" or "App" key. It's between the right windows key and the right control key on most keyboards.

First things first - ventrilo has no trouble with this key. It calls it the "APPS" key.

Next, I needed to figure out how to program my controllers with this key. At first glance, the thrustmaster software doesn't seem to know this key. But then I remember that the stick allows programming with USB codes. So, I look at the list of USB codes in the stick's manual and doh, there's no "menu" key. Well, there is, but it's not the right one. So, to the internet I go. It turns out that this key has the value of 65(hex) or 101(decimal). Put this in my setup file and woot, it works just fine.

Now, for the TacBoard. Test this key in the tacboard software and it works just fine too.

Lastly, does this key cause any trouble in games? Well, I can say that all is well in Lock On: Flaming Cliffs and Guild Wars. Only time will tell if it works in all my games. My instincts tell me that unless the game uses that key for some undocumented function, there won't be trouble. [when testing keys, i tried the "windows" keys (RWIN and LWIN ... some games, this sends you out to the desktop -- i saw no such behavior with the MENU/APPS key since it is app-specific, and not a "global" key like Alt, CTRL, or LWIN ...]

Any thoughts?
Last edited by Gator on 04 Jun 2005, 14:12, edited 1 time in total.
Image
Silence is golden - Duct Tape is silver
User avatar
Jedi Master
Posts: 1364
Joined: 11 Feb 2004, 14:32
Location: Melbourne, FL

Post by Jedi Master »

Well, in LOMAC 1.1, that key IS used for the right engine, I think. However, by itself it does nothing. I think it's only when used with the 6-key block on the right (home/end/etc).
The Jedi Master
User avatar
Gator
Posts: 1412
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 15:55
Location: Reston, VA
Contact:

Post by Gator »

Jedi,
I don't think so. I've got the Lomac 1.1 control layout here with me. In the throttles section, there's RWin, Home, End, Alt, Shift, Page up, Page down, akeypad plus and minus. There is no use of the "Menu" or "App" key ... whatever it's called.

-Gator
Image
Silence is golden - Duct Tape is silver
KODIAK
Posts: 2731
Joined: 17 Aug 2002, 21:06

Post by KODIAK »

Any more talk like this and I might just have to start re-programming my TacBoard, Cougar . . . . . . :lol: Good find there Bri, something we've all been meaning to get around to eventually, glad someone else tackled it first though! 8)
User avatar
Gator
Posts: 1412
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 15:55
Location: Reston, VA
Contact:

Post by Gator »

well kodiak, it all came about because i kept hosing the trim on my fighter - the sim was using CTRL (my PTT key) as a modifier on another control (TDC Cursor I think) ... so if I was talking and slewing the cursor at the same time, the aircraft got all hosed up. It just came down to a search of the one key that no one ever uses ....
Image
Silence is golden - Duct Tape is silver
KODIAK
Posts: 2731
Joined: 17 Aug 2002, 21:06

Post by KODIAK »

Keep me posted on anything you find. I may very well be doing exactly what I said when I get back home. I'm a great fan of the generic set-up idea, as you've no doubt seen from my TacBoard profiles.
User avatar
Jedi Master
Posts: 1364
Joined: 11 Feb 2004, 14:32
Location: Melbourne, FL

Post by Jedi Master »

Really? Because I could swear that when I switch on the engines, I hit those 2 keys and then Home. First the one next to the Alt key for the left engine, then the one next to the Ctrl key for the right engine...
The Jedi Master
User avatar
Gator
Posts: 1412
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 15:55
Location: Reston, VA
Contact:

Post by Gator »

Jedi,

The engines use the RWin key (the one with the little windows logo). However, there's another key to the right of the RWIN key (Between RWIN and RCTRL) that is not used. The best part is that it doesn't have a global OS-level function. If you are in an app, it is typically equivalent to a right-mouse-button click/context menu. In games, this is probably not even used (at least by my current, limited survey). In games like IL2 and LOMAC, where every available key is used (including scroll-lock, CTRL, or F12), finding a spare key that isn't used in chorded combos is extremely useful.

My TM syntax (Cougar) is

Code: Select all

REM Push To Talk
BTN S4 /P USB(D65)
       /R USB(U65)
I am pretty sure it has to be coded this way to allow it to be "held" down ...
Image
Silence is golden - Duct Tape is silver
Hammer
Posts: 5232
Joined: 11 May 2005, 14:50

Post by Hammer »

yes - it looks like a little menu bar with a mouse cursor on the right side of it. it is NOT the rwin or lwin key. in addition, as Gator mentioned, the win keys would likely cause problems in some games...

good find Gator - very helpful!

is 65 or 101 the raw key code? i think i am going to have to do it that way for my stickworks modded TM gear...
Helmut
User avatar
Gator
Posts: 1412
Joined: 29 Jun 2002, 15:55
Location: Reston, VA
Contact:

Post by Gator »

I believe that is the raw key code ... 65 being hex.
Image
Silence is golden - Duct Tape is silver
KODIAK
Posts: 2731
Joined: 17 Aug 2002, 21:06

Post by KODIAK »

Yeah, I need to have a go at this when I get home. 8)
Post Reply